A leasehold flat buying Freehold from Southwark council

E8toSE15

Hi All,

This is my first time posting here. Hope I found the right section for my topic. Thank you in advance.

We are in the process of buying a first floor flat in a victorian conversion with 2 flats in the corner of East Dulwich.

It is a leasehold, Southwark council being the freeholder.

We realised that the Southwark council requires applications and charges fees for any small alterations to our home, even for removing a cupboard or installing a shelf.

It might be our lack of experience in the matter, but I find this very odd, especially as a new flat owner, I think it's normal wanting to move and change furniture in our flat without sending applications and waiting for a reply for each small change.

So we thought an alternative would be to purchase the freehold from the council.

We also found out that the Southwark council is the owner and freeholder of the ground floor flat and it's renting it to a council tenant.

Could you share any information if you have heard or experienced buying the freehold from Southwark council where the other flat owner is the council itself?

I guess it won't be possible to have a share of freehold in this case and we will have to buy the freehold of the whole building.

One last question: In case we purchase the freehold, would the loft be included in the sale? At the moment the council owns the loft too.

The guideline of the URL below from the council sounds like it's possible but we're not 100% sure.

https://www.southwark.gov.uk/home-owners-services/buying-selling-subletting-and-remortgaging/buying-the-freehold-of-your-building-from-us

If you have any information on this matter it'd be a massive help for us.

Thank you.

My neighbour owns his flat - 1st floor in a converted Victoria semi. Ground floor is rented out by Southwark Council.