need a bit of advice about going to India in late feb...

Philby

I want to go to India, late feb for about 10 days. Never been before. Im a photographer. Varanassi looks like a nice place to shoot. I want to go on my own, find an interesting place to go, not get ripped off, get around unmolested and generally have a great time mooching about taking street photos. If anyone wouldnt mind talking to me a bit about this Id be grateful. Pm me a phone number if you are cool with that.

Ive never been and it seems a bit of a daunting place...

Thanks alot

Philby

Hi Philby, Varanasi was my favourite place in North Central India. It's a very interesting place and great for taking photos.

My experience of India was that I got ripped off everywhere as there are no set prices for anything and it was quite hard to find people interested in just talking to you without wanting to sell you something. I wasn't molested although am half Pakistani so I don't know if that helped. Make sure you you dress modestly as it helps massively although I'm sure you know that.

There was a great coffee shop and boutique that I went to in Varanasi- the first decent coffee I'd had my whole trip as I found the coffee in India tastes like tea! The same place was also a boutique selling handmade things with set prices which made me extremely happy!

I say go for it. Overall I didn't like India. It seems to be abit of a marmite place- you love it or hate it and I know many people that absolutely love it. Varanasi did stop me from hating it though!

Zeban - your post made me laugh out loud about the tea tasting like coffee and vice versa! I used to work in India and whilst visiting a university, that's exactly what the professor said to me :) You're soooo right that its a love it or hate it type of place.

Philby - I adore India ( am probably very biased).