midwife thoughts?

JayJay5

hi everyone

i'm really intrigued by the fact there are hardly any - actually no - threads about midwives on this forum. I'm a midwife and I find this really curious. i thought women would be asking loads of questions about the best place to birth, different options in pregnancy, can anyone recommend a private midwife, etc?

any ideas why?!

Hi Jayjay5, I think that the threads and posts about Midwives and the services available locally tend to have different titles such as "where should I have my baby?" or something like that. So, you may need to dig a little deeper, but bluesuperted is right - it is a popular topic/theme on this forum.

Agreed, midwifery discussions on this forum are often bound up with other discussion topics.

I think we're fortunate in ED to have many great community midwifery services that support a variety of birth choices. Plus we have large diverse hospital units like Kings Denmark Hill and Lewisham.

Perhaps check out the Positive Birth thread? Sillywoman is hosting a 'birth talk' group based on this thread. Everyone is welcome. The discussions have been really interesting so far! xx

Edited to say, just saw your post on the PB thread! xx

I know I'd read about the case loading teams on here long before getting pregnant. I rang Oakwood as soon as I got a positive test and breathlessly asked if they might be able to take me. They laughed a bit and said I was a FHR patient so of course they would! But I know other patients there that didn't get on their list at busy times, so I should thank the EDF for the tip off.