FAO residents of Bromar Rd / Grove Hill Rd re the curious case of The Midnight Runner

Hello!

This is my first time posting. I'm here because I am curious/nosey about a regular occurance of strange behaviour in the Bromar Road / Grove Hill Road area late at night.

I've lived in the area for around 3 years and ever since I've moved to tha area, I often hear someone running past my window late at night.

It's not every night but I would say happens at least a couple of times each week.

Now I've never seen this person but what is most distinctive about it all is that the footsteps are very heavy, so they don't sound like someone jogging, but rather someone very heavy footed - perhaps in more formal shoes. I would also tend to assume that the runner is a man due to these heavy steps.

This usually happens any time between around 11pm at night and 2 or even 3am sometimes. The person always runs up the hill (towards Champion Hill / Camberwell Grove) and it sounds like they're pretty much at full speed.

Myself and my girlfriend have dubbed this man 'The Midnight Runner' :)

As I said this is just me being curious/nosey and am not suggesting this person has done anything wrong! But has anyone else seen or heard this person before? perhaps you know the person or perhaps it's even you?!

Would love to find out more as he has become a regular talking point in my household!

Midnight Runner Fan

Colin I like your theory but I'd be a bit confused about why this person would have been doing this for circa 3 years? (or potentially even longer).

And Jeremy your theory is also the one I had. Certainly there are places (like the hospital) that are in that general direction that would have plenty of people starting their shift in the middle of the morning.

I think I might have to pull an all nighter and shout out the window the next time he goes past...

midnightrunnerfan Wrote:

-------------------------------------------------------