independent midwives - who aren't homeopaths!

Kes

Bit scared of posting this... not trying to start an argument but here goes...

Following on from the various threads about getting a better birth second time round I've had a little google for independent midwives. I assume the point of going for this option would be to have more choice and to find someone with a similar outlook to you who you can feel comfortable with. So I was a bit surprised that all the people I found said they were also homeopaths.

Now I know a lot of people believe in homeopathy and I really don't want to open a can of worms here but I'm a scientist and I would feel much happier with medical care from someone who, like me, believes in an evidence based approach and doesn't see homeopathy as fitting into that.

So - does anyone know any independent midwives who aren't also homeopaths? Or am I looking for a combination that doesn't exist? I'm not even pregnant but after last time I'd like to know my options before I even get started!

Thank you and please be gentle...

K

....runs off and hides under a lab coat...

Now I hadn't thought of her - she was my NCT teacher! Her team have delivered 2 of my friends babies, but she was a bit funny with me when she heard I'd had a c-section so not sure I'd be comfortable with her unfortunately. Thanks though.

I recently used this group: http://www.independentmidwives-southeast.co.uk/

They are not homeopaths - they might use some homeopathic remedies within a range of other pain relief/aids etc but sure they would totally respect your wishes if you said you were not interested! Feel free to pm me if you want more info. I found them amazing support for both ante and post natal care.

ps Caroline Flint's Birth Centre went into receivership in December....