Martial Arts for toddlers

rox

Has anyone got a toddler who attends martial arts classes in the area? Did your child enjoy it? I thought it may be a fun thing for my son to do as he is super active but I can't find any classes to go to.

HI - I don't have a toddler yet, but think martial arts are great for children of all ages - provided they are taught in a school that has the right approach - emphasising courtesy,integrity, perseverance, self-Control and fun! I have some experience as a martial arts teacher (black belt in chinese kung fu) and strongly you look closely at any prospective school: if there is too much emphasis on competitions and too much swagger among the older students, it is probably not that great. My teenage step son goes to a taek won do school in Beckenham and I am very impressed by his attitude to his training and how this spills into other areas of his life, i.e. hard working and helpul (yes, he is checky sometimes too - great fun kid). I don't know the name, but is run by a female instructor and all I hear about her impresses me too.

Hope you find something you like - if you do, please let us know, in a few years I'll be looking too!

I'm not entirely sure about the starting age for most of the martial arts classes but I remember that when I was looking for a class for my then under 3 I couldn't really find anything as most of them seemed to start at 4. My son has now been doing taekwon-do with Mazuki for quite some time and he really enjoys it. Their classes start from 3 years up and are always well organised, well staffed and fun. They also teach about stranger awareness and anti-bullying. Have a look here if you're interested: http://www.mazuki.com/. There have been other recommendations on the forum before as well, may be worth doing a search.

• 1 year later...