Guilty till proved innocent

Spartacus

There seems to be a trend in the media / online to assume someone is guilty of a crime based on either accusations or perception and that person then has to prove themselves innocent to clear their name. 

We all used to be innocent until proven guilty but now with social media and mainstream media, which then drives public perception, that seems to be the opposite case.

Whilst I have no knowledge or interest in the case, the latest accusation is obviously Russell Brand, and this morning the media already feels like they are saying he is guilty even though there is only accusations at this time and no trial has occurred. 

It strikes me that even should he be innocent, the media has already tried him and damaged his reputation. Of course, if he is guilty then a proper trial should occur but that then leads to questions of impartiality of a jury as they could have been influenced by social and mainstream media.

Similar is happening in America with the pro and anti trump camps, using social and mainstream media to sway perception of his guilt or innocence even before trials occur. 

Are we starting to fall in to the trap highlighted in 1984, where citizens could simply accuse someone of thought crime and the thought police would whisk them away for rehabilitation ? Or the witch trials of medieval time where women were accused of being witches, tried and executed based simply on rumours or hearsay ? 

Edited by Spartacus

Interesting question

Innocent until proven guilty is a criminal law concept. 

The Times/C4/anyone else are free to state/publish facts as they see fit. Russell Brand has a reputation for litigation and is at liberty to pursue further actions that he thinks he would win. He would only need to action against one or two parties to establish his case, any others would then settle out of court.