Best way to have US dollars sent from the States

Rosetta

Why would you want them sent from the states? Why not just exchange?

If your bank are quoting you $1.31 to the ? I would bite their arms off.

I have to say i'm very very surprised though.

Thomas Exchange in the City, when ordered online, regularly give the best rates in London.

Today's US$ rate with them is $1.2575 to the ?.

Today's spot rate is $1.2733; so I really don't think your bank will give you $1.31

Is it from a person you know in the States? If so have you considered one of the newer peer-to-peer exchange places? I've got no personal experience of them, but I remember hearing and reading a lot about them as they started to become more mainstream. Supposedly a better rate when sending money abroad, so I presume it is the same the other way around. The big players here seem to be MidPoint, Transferwise and CurrencyFair. I think they are mainly used for currency exchange but I'm sure I also read that you could actually send money to someone personally (i.e. getting around things like Western Union).

Rosetta Wrote:

-------------------------------------------------------

> Yes, it's from someone I know. Thanks for that

> info, will investigate.

Just a suggestion but being sick of exchange rate/commission ripoffs in my main freelancing work (which is mainly writing for US firms), when I do little bits and pieces of writing for a mate in the States I tell him to keep the money in his account, then when he comes to visit bring something I need/want he's bought in the States, where usually things are much cheaper anyway - for example pipe tobacco and a Kindle are two of the things he's brought over recently, both way cheaper than here and no commission to pay. Only works if your friend's going to visit though...

rendelharris Wrote:

> when I do little bits and pieces of writing for a mate

> in the States I tell him to keep the money in his

> account, then when he comes to visit bring