Starting reception part-time - advice gratefully recieved

MichelleT

Dear forumites,

My DS will be 4 in July next year, which I feel is a bit young to start school full time in September, so am thinking of sending him part time and keeping him at nursery part time, and gradually increasing the school and reducing the nursery hours. Has anyone else done this? Would love to hear from you?!

Thanks,

M

I've no direct experience of your case, but I do remember that his settling in process at school was stretched over 3 weeks - so the children do have a lengthy settling in period anyway. Reception class is also very similar to nursery, so if you were still going to send your son to nursery as well I don't think it would make too much difference in terms of tiredness etc.

Also, the change from 'school' to 'nursery' on a regular basis may be a little disruptive. I have a friend who's son was 4 on 2nd September and as a result he's started school nursery for the part time allocation, but then goes to his day nursery for the rest of the time. However, because the day nursery is in the same location, he's getting very confused and she's thinking of stopping that.

If you feel that your son will be too young to start school in September next year, then I would consider deferring entirely until January/Easter, rather than trying to do both (which basically will just mean more to-and fro-ing for you too!). But don't forget, there is still a year to go, and the little ones grow up a LOT between 3 and 4, so you may feel much happier next summer.

Hope this helps!