is sound proofing my answer?

OliviaDee

I live in one of Peckham Rye's terraced houses and there seems to be absolutely no soundproofing in the party wall - which is currently pretty miserable since a new family moved in next door and all they do is scream and shout at each other round the clock (dont worry no sign of domestic abuse or i'd be taking different action). Not only is the noise disruptive but the nature of it is really getting me down. They own and i rent - so i guess they're staying but i don't want to leave. So, does anyone know of a way the wall can be insulated without major works? Obviously i'd inform my landlord (and at this point i'm paying for it) but i'd like to know what i'm talking about before i raise the issue. Does anyone out there have advice for me or experience of this sort of thing? It would be greatly appreciated.

thanks

Ollie

I have some practical experience of this in our new flat in Catford. Shared wall in the downstairs hallway section was very thin. Wasn't even stud wall so couldn't insulate a cavity at all. I clad it first in soundproof plaster board secured with acoustic sealant (note this board is 'soundproof' in the sense it's much heavier and denser) and then a layer of high mass load vinyl. And then finished off with another layer of the sound plasterboard. All sealed up with acoustic sealant (remains more flexible longterm so helps reduce drum effect) Essentially what you have to do is the increase the mass of the wall. Different densities of materials help with this. In our scenario it has helped absolutely massively. However if you have a chimney breast or interior features such as plasterwork cornice then it becomes much more difficult and thus expensive or you have to ruin things like period features. Because our's was a hallway I didn't have to worry about that.