butter eating three year old

josiebee

My three year old daughter has always been a poor eater and is fairly small for her age. The one thing though she really likes and will eat in large quantities is butter. My instinct is to let her eat almost as much as she wants but some people say she shouldn't ... is there someone with a good knowledge of nutrition etc out there who knows how much butter little children can eat before it becomes a problem? Thanks.

i am not an expert, but part of feedback must be if she has tummy aches/ bowel movements ok. also you could try and assess her calorific requirements and if she is not eating calories in terms of carbohydrates- bread pasta rice potatoes etc- then these can be partly topped up with fat- but too much butter could develop into an unhealthy eating habit and heart disease. i have a very old manual of nutrition but it is too old to specify fat levels for3 year olds.

Calorie requirements are high at this age as toddlers are active- around 1,200 calories per day for a 3 year old. Children do need fat to make up a much larger part of their diet than adults (for growth and nerve function) but I wouldn't advise too much as it may stop her getting other necessary nutrients as well and fat is very filling so you'd probably find she will be too full to consume enough carbs and protein that are important as part of her balanced diet.

Also, as I think somebody else mentioned, this could become an unhealthy habit...although at this age I think it is more likely that it will be a passing 'phase' that she'd soon grow out of! I know of another child who wanted nothing but butter and would try to eat whole spoonfulls but by age 4 had completely grown out of the obsession and barely touched it again.