Kent grammar schools

Jellybeanz

My son has passed the 11 plus so now we need to choose which schools to apply for.

Do any locals send their child to a grammar?

I'm new to this so considering whether he commutes or we move and would also love personal feedback on any recommended grammar schools in kent or any to avoid.

Much appreciated

P.S. yes I liked ED charter and Kingsdale so planning to put them on my application form also, as plan B.

I do not think Southwark has grammar schools as such. There are independent schools like Alleyns, Dulwich College which are fee paying. St. Joseph's Beulah Hill (not sure if they are fee paying)

11 plus - I thought this went out years ago? Many schools have entrance exams.

There are a couple of schools in Kent - Orpington/Sidcup/Bexley area - cannot remember their names. They are heavily oversubscribed and the children need to sit entrance exams.

My granddaughter sat the exam for one school - she got a high pass mark in the mid 90s and was in the top 120 pupils. However the school only took 100 intake that year. Several hundreds of pupils took the exam . She went onto the local comprahensive, got 10 or 11 GCSEs, the majority being A and A star. A levels were also 2 As and a B. She is now in her 3rd year at Uni studying medical Sciences. A good secondary school can produce as good results as grammar schools - depends on whether child is academically minded or more creative,

My granddaughter is in her 2nd year at a grammar school in Kent. Her parents had to provide proof that they had lived in their house (in Kent) for at least 2 years prior to application, so I don't think you stand much chance of acceptance even if you move now.