Shocking driving at GG roundabout

Louisa

This has been covered before, numerous times. But I really think some drivers need to take a fresh look at the Highway Code. When you are approaching a zebra crossing, you should always approach with caution and slowly. I know the roundabout at Goose Green is often busy and it's sometimes difficult to not half pull across the actual crossing point when trying to get onto the roundabout itself, but always approach with caution just in case a pedestrian is already on, or about to cross. Recently seen some horrendous driving, someone almost knocked down earlier as a speeding BMW came around the roundabout from LL heading towards EDR and a pedestrian half way across the crossing had to run at speed for fear of the car not being able to stop. It's just not on, slow down a bit, especially when you're in a 20mph zone. I'm a driver and pedestrian myself so can appreciate both points of view, but there really is no excuse for making a pedestrian have to fear for there safety on a crossing. Rant over.

Louisa.

BMW drivers do tend to fit all the stereotypes about narcissistic, self important ignorant people who think the vehicle they're driving gives them some sort of free pass to drive like an arse. If they were that great they'd be driving a proper car like a Ferrari, Aston Martin or Bentley. But we all know that the average BMW driver is a wannabewho can't afford something better. Second rant over.

Louisa.

Happens on all zebras. I've often banged the side panel of vans and cars which have driven over the crossing while I've been on it. (Especially that one by Warwick Gardens.) Sometimes the driver stops for a lively discussion, so I don't recommend my approach unless you're confident of outrunning gorillas in white vans, who can at times be liberal with offers of violence :)